Women In Photography – New Series

Screen Shot 2016-11-25 at 9.40.14 AM.png

I’m kicking off a new series of videos I’m calling Take Five.  The idea is to present a series of videos which are short and succinct focusing in on key aspects or figures in photography.  The purpose is to Expose, Inform and help people discover and appreciate fantastic artists from the past who do not get the attention given the more mainstream figures.

As I thought through this I realized that many of my favorite images where not only made by little known photographers, but women!  Women in the past faced incredible challenges when it came to the profession of photography.  Not only were there barriers and biases with respect to acceptance as professionals, but there were barriers and resistance to women even getting the training required.  Furthermore, women were also facing the extreme socially accepted gender bias against woman working.  Talk about an uphill battle!

Despite all of this, many women actually did embark upon careers as photographers both semi-professional and professional.  More to the point, in many instances women were more cutting edge and innovative than their male counterparts!  Incredible!  Yes, I know.

So, it is with this in mind that I set out to formulate this series.  I’ve selected 10 female photographers, my favorites, working from the late 19th to early 20th centuries.  I have devised a structure to these videos with the sole intention of just bringing them forward so as to be discovered, appreciated and remembered.  My goal is to roll all ten of these out over the next couple months.  I hope you all enjoy.

PLEASE VISIT THE AAP WEBSITE and YouTube Channel:

AAP-Logo.png

Leave a Reply

