Wet Plate @ Cherokee Rock Village

Wonderful weather this weekend.  Spent an incredible day out at Cherokee Rock Village in NE Alabama.  One of my favorite places to visit.  Dragged out the wet plate collodion gear for the first time in what feels like forever.  Only made three photographs even though I spent well over 6 hours out there.  Of the three, only one really ended up coming through the way I’d envisioned.  Matters not as it was an incredible day well spent.

crv-3

My favorite of the day.  Simple composition, but the ethereal 3-D effect I love in wet plate came screaming through.

crv-2

A difficult image due to the extreme contrast.  Not all that pleased with the result, but I can see enough of what I was striving for to make me happy.

crv-1

I had some difficulties here.  I love the composition.  It was a rather challenging scene in terms of high contrast and I had a bad collodion pour, which is what’s driving the cloudiness.  I still like it.

Leave a Reply

